Among the Ten Thousand Things

Among the Ten Thousand Things

By Julia Pierpont

  • Release Date: 2015-07-07
  • Genre: Literary
Score: 3
3
From 98 Ratings
Ads Download now

Description

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY SAN FRANCISCO CHRONICLE AND THE HUFFINGTON POST • Features an exclusive conversation between Julia Pierpont and Lena Dunham

For fans of Jennifer Egan, Jonathan Franzen, Lorrie Moore, and Curtis Sittenfeld, Among the Ten Thousand Things is a dazzling first novel, a portrait of an American family on the cusp of irrevocable change, and a startlingly original story of love and time lost.


Jack Shanley is a well-known New York artist, charming and vain, who doesn’t mean to plunge his family into crisis. His wife, Deb, gladly left behind a difficult career as a dancer to raise the two children she adores. In the ensuing years, she has mostly avoided coming face-to-face with the weaknesses of the man she married. But then an anonymously sent package arrives in the mail: a cardboard box containing sheaves of printed emails chronicling Jack’s secret life. The package is addressed to Deb, but it’s delivered into the wrong hands: her children’s.

With this vertiginous opening begins a debut that is by turns funny, wise, and indescribably moving. As the Shanleys spin apart into separate orbits, leaving New York in an attempt to regain their bearings, fifteen-year-old Simon feels the allure of adult freedoms for the first time, while eleven-year-old Kay wanders precariously into a grown-up world she can’t possibly understand. Writing with extraordinary precision, humor, and beauty, Julia Pierpont has crafted a timeless, hugely enjoyable novel about the bonds of family life—their brittleness, and their resilience.

Praise for Among the Ten Thousand Things

“A luscious, smart summer novel . . . by a blazingly talented young author.”The New York Times Book Review
 
“This book is one of the funniest, and most emotionally honest, I’ve read in a long time.”—Jonathan Safran Foer
 
“Obsessively compelling . . . emotionally sophisticated . . . Among the Ten Thousand Things rises above [other novels] for its imagined structure, sentence-by-sentence punch, and pure humanity.”Vanity Fair
 
“Gripping . . . Pierpont brings this family of four to life in sharply observed detail. . . . An acute observer of social comedy, Ms. Pierpont has a keen eye for the absurd.”The Wall Street Journal
 
“Pierpont’s language is heart-stopping. . . . Between Pierpont’s literary finesse and her captivating characters, [Among the Ten Thousand Things] reads like a page-turner.”Entertainment Weekly (grade: A)
 
“A twisty, gripping story—that packs an emotional wallop.”O: The Oprah Magazine

“There are going to be as many ingenious twists and turns in this literary novel as there are in a top-notch work of suspense like Gone Girl.”—Maureen Corrigan, NPR’s Fresh Air

“Tender, delicately perceptive . . . Pierpont’s voice is wry and confident, and she is a fine anthropologist of New York life.”The Washington Post

“Pierpont displays a precocious gift for language and observation. . . . She captures the minutiae of loneliness that pushes us away from each other and sometimes brings us back.”San Francisco Chronicle

From the Trade Paperback edition.

Reviews

  • Among ten thousand things

    1
    By debbielynn20
    This book caught my attention and then became very depressing. I never finished reading it because it made me sad.
  • Among the Ten Thousand Things

    1
    By NannysDaughter
    Okay, I was looking forward to the brilliant first novel for this new voice in fiction. I read carefully, trying to use my insight to find what the author was trying to convey. Well, either she failed or I did. This is not a linear story, and it takes a while to realize that it really doesn't have much substance. Cannot recommend.
  • AWESOME

    5
    By Laura Barrundia
    Perfection
  • Among Ten Thousand Things

    3
    By Unidentifide
    This book was only ok. I enjoyed the beginning of it and then it pretty much went down from there. Would not recommend.
  • It was a sleeper for me, think it could have been lots better.

    3
    By Bed deb 2012
    I really got into the first part of this book. Kids finding letters that their father had written to his mistress and vice versa. Then the story got as boring as the lives of the people in the story. Everyone was lost and didn't know what to do after the box came. I can accept that would happen in real life, but reading about it? I think a lot of the middle could have been cut out and it would have made a much more entertaining read. While I find no fault in the writing by the author or her character development, I just think it just dragged along. Thanks Random House and Net Galley for providing me with this free e-galley in exchange for an honest review.

keyboard_arrow_up