The Scroll

The Scroll

By Anne Perry

  • Release Date: 2012-11-12
  • Genre: British Detectives
Score: 3.5
From 48 Ratings
Ads Download now


An ancient scroll draws a bookseller into a chilling mystery.
Monty Danforth finds the tin buried beneath a shipment of leather-bound classics. Inside is a millennia-old vellum manuscript written in an unfamiliar but unmistakably ancient language. Danforth tries to photocopy and photograph it, but he ends up with blank images, as though the ink were made of something impervious to modern technology. As the scroll’s mystery enchants him, this hapless bookseller falls into a cutthroat conspiracy that he may never escape. Soon a dead-eyed old man and his granddaughter come calling for the scroll. Danforth refuses to sell them the manuscript, but they will not be the last to demand it. Powerful forces crave the secrets locked within this ancient document, and Danforth will survive only if he can master its power.

The Bibliomysteries are a series of short tales about deadly books, by top mystery authors.
“[Anne Perry] has no peer.” —Alfred Hitchcock’s Mystery Magazine “Perry makes deft use of history to cast additional light on modern-day issues.” —Publishers Weekly “Typical Anne Perry—just when you think you have it figured out, think again! . . . Her novels take you deeper than just the mystery at hand, to probe the characters’ reactions and the frailties of human nature.”  —Mostly Murder
Anne Perry (b. 1938) is a bestselling author of historical detective fiction, most notably the Thomas and Charlotte Pitt series and the William Monk series, both set in Victorian England. Her first book, The Cater Street Hangman (1979), launched both the Pitt series and her career as a premier writer of Victorian mysteries. Other novels in the series include Resurrection Row, Death in the Devil’s Acre, and Silence in Hanover Close, as well as more than twenty others. The William Monk series of novels, featuring a Victorian police officer turned private investigator, includes Funeral in Blue, The Twisted Root, and The Silent Cry. In addition to these series, Perry is also author of the World War I novels No Graves as Yet, Shoulder the Sky, Angels in the Gloom, and others, as well as several collections of short stories. Perry’s novels have appeared on bestseller lists around the world and she has over twenty-five million books in print worldwide. She lives in Scotland.       


  • The Scroll

    By Cailín
    Anne Perry is great, but this story is in a league of it's own showing another facet of this author. How do you get the wind knocked out of you when a simple supernatural story takes a very unexpected turn? Read The Scroll and find out.