The Deeds of the Disturber

The Deeds of the Disturber

By Elizabeth Peters

  • Release Date: 2017-10-31
  • Genre: Mysteries & Thrillers
Ads Download now


An Egyptologist investigates a death at the British Museum in this “charming” historical mystery by the New York Times–bestselling author of The Painted Queen (The Denver Post).
Back in London after an archaeological dig, adventurous sleuth Amelia Peabody—“rather like Indiana Jones, Sherlock Holmes and Miss Marple all rolled into one”—discovers that a night watchman at the museum has perished in the shadow of a mummy case (The Washington Post Book World).
There are murmurings about an ancient curse, but a skeptical Amelia is determined to find an all-too-human killer. Soon, she’s balancing family demands, including the troubles of her precocious son, Ramses (aka Walter), with not just one unsolved crime, but two . . .
From a recipient of multiple honors including the Mystery Writers of America’s Grand Master Award, this murder mystery set in Victorian-era England is a witty, rollicking, and “deeply satisfying” romp (Entertainment Weekly) in a “jewel of a series” (The New York Times Book Review).

Praise for the Amelia Peabody Mysteries
“The joy of the Amelia books has always been their elegant sense of humor. . . . Peters manages to satirize romantic thrillers while producing some of the finest in the genre.” —Entertainment Weekly
“No one is better at juggling torches while dancing on a high wire than Elizabeth Peters.” —Chicago Tribune
“[An] exceptional series . . . First-rate, densely packed action, fun, and atmosphere.” —Library Journal
“Between Amelia Peabody and Indiana Jones, it’s Amelia—in wit and daring—by a landslide.” —The New York Times Book Review
“This author never fails to entertain.” —The Plain Dealer

Elizabeth Peters (1927–2013) was one of the pseudonyms of American writer Barbara Louise Mertz, whose New York Times–bestselling Amelia Peabody mysteries are often set against historical backdrops. In 1952, Peters earned a PhD in Egyptology at the University of Chicago. She was named grand master at the inaugural Anthony Awards in 1986 and by the Mystery Writers of America in 1998. In 2003, she received the Lifetime Achievement Award at the Malice Domestic Convention.